LCTV awarded ‘Overall Excellence’ from Iowa Broadcast News Association

JOHNSTON, IA – The Iowa Broadcast News Association recognized Loras College Television with many awards at their conference on Saturday, including the highest honor of the night, ‘Overall Excellence.’

The conference was held at the Stoney Creek Inn in Johnston, Iowa.

The day consisted of sessions, panels, and keynote addresses by industry professionals.

The day ended with an awards banquet.

LCTV received 13 first place awards.

Here’s a complete list of the winners:


  • Spot News – Caroline Foglton, “Visitation Fire”
  • Photography – Charlie Grant, “Dubuque Artist”
  • Feature – Allison Wong & Charlie Grant, “Dubuque Artist”
  • Series – Rachel Choice & Dimitri Villaneuva, “Rendez Vous with Ray”
  • Public Affairs – Melissa Link & Maddie Galloway, “Behind the Bump: A Birth Mother’s Story”
  • Sports Coverage – Aidan Wojciehowski, “Josh Ruggles”
  • General Reporting – Allison Wong, “Dubuquers Still Adjusting to Medicaid Privatization”
  • Best Newscast – LCTV News Staff
  • Best Sportscast – SportsZONE Staff
  • Overall Excellence in Reporting – Allison Wong
  • Overall Excellence in Anchoring – Allison Wong & Dimitri Villaneuva
  • Overall Best Use of Online Media – LCTV Staff, “”
  • Overall Excellence, LCTV Staff


  • Photography – Kelly Kuboushek, “Wet Weather Challenges Farmers”
  • Farm and Agribusiness – Kelly Kuboushek, “Wet¬†Weather Challenges Farmers”
  • Sports Coverage – Allie Kaleta, “Concussion Complications”
  • General Reporting – Allison Wong & Charlie Grant, “Dubuque Traffic Stop Study”
  • Sports Play-By-Play (Web-Based) – Dustin Dawson & Tara Shingler, “LIVE Sports Compilation


  • Series – Allison Wong & Charlie Grant, “Dubuquer in Dublin”

    Ben Friedman and Allison Wong holding their scholarship certificates
  • Political Coverage – Payton Van Vors, “Early Voting Opportunities”


  • Photography – Dimitri Villaneuva, “Rendez Vous with Ray”

Two LCTV anchors also received scholarships.

Ben Friedman received the Grant Price scholarship, which recognizes a freshman or sophomore with outstanding promise at an early career stage.

Allison Wong received the John Bachman scholarship, which is designed to recognize outstanding promise at an early career stage for an individual intending to pursue a career in television.

Google+ Linkedin

Written By :

Allison is a senior at Loras College and is a Dubuque native. She's the Producer of LCTV News, along with Payton Van Vors, as well as an anchor and reporter. This past summer, Allison had an internship with KCRG in Dubuque, and she's continuing to work for them this Fall. Allison reports because she loves keeping her community informed on issues and events that matter to them.

Leave a Reply