IBNA Scholarships 2012

CORALVILLE, IA – On Saturday, the Iowa Broadcast News Association awarded three prestigious broadcast scholarships – two in the category of television broadcasting, and one in radio. Both of the television broadcast scholarships were awarded to Loras College students.

Loras First-Year student, Mareah Adolphs (Miles, IA) was awarded the Grant Price Scholarship. This scholarship is designed to recognize outstanding promise at an early career stage. The scholarship amount is $1,000.00. Adolphs is the fourth Loras Student to receive this award.

Loras Junior, Ellen Reiss (Ryan, IA) was named the Dick Petrik Outstanding Student. This award is given annually to a college student whose work shows outstanding potential for a career in electronic media journalism, and carries with it a monetary award of $500.00. On Saturday, Reiss was also presented with the Don Shelby Journalism Scholarship by NATAS (The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences) – Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation. This prestigious Scholarship carries with it a $2,500 monetary award. NATAS, best known for their coveted Emmy awards, is an organization dedicated to excellence in television by honoring exceptional work, past and present; providing professional development and outreach; and nurturing the next generation of television professionals. This is the first time a Loras student has been presented with this award.

Google+ Linkedin